if you have ever usedInstagram, you might notice people's activity or online status -- that familiar green dot indicates that a person is currently online.
When your activity status is on, both the accounts you follow and the accounts you post from can see that you're online.It can be embarrassing if someone sees you online but doesn't respond to their message.
To avoid this, you can close your active state.However, there's a catch: other people's activity status is also hidden from you.If you can live with that, here's how to close yourInstagramonline status on .
How to Hide Your Instagram Activity Status
In addition to showing how long you've been active online, your Instagram activity status also shows when you were last active on the app.This can be seen in Direct Inbox.
If you're in a chat, the activity monitor can also act as a typing indicator, letting you see when the other person is typing a comment or reply.
Here's how to hide your activity status and limit unwanted interactions on Instagram:
1. Launch the Instagram app on your phone.
2. Tap your personal photo in the lower right corner of the screen.
3. Click the three-line hamburger menu in the upper right corner.
4. Tap Settings, and then tap Privacy.
5. Scroll down and tap Active Status.
6. Turn off the switch that shows the active status.
What happens when you hide your Instagram activity status?
Once you turn off your activity status, the accounts you follow or the accounts you have messaged them will no longer be able to see your online status and neither will you be able to see their status.
When you're active together, the display toggle will automatically turn off when hiding your online status.This means you won't see when you and the accounts you follow or the people you message are all active in the same chat.
You also won't be able to see the typing light when chatting with others.However, when using Instagram, you get more privacy.Best of all, you can turn it on or off however you want.
Use incognito mode to stay undetected
With activity turned off, you can fly under the radar and go about your day-to-day business quietly.This feature is also available on Facebook and Messenger.
While social media is meant to be a space for people to connect and communicate, sometimes you may just be in a good mood and want to be alone.And that's totally possible.
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!